National Bank of Wilson

1931 National Bank of Wilson.  Shown in the picture: WE Warren, Edward Warren, and Josie Pace

1931 National Bank of Wilson.  WE Warren, Edward Warren, and Josie Pace

Mid 1950's.  Marigold Chesson, Frank Anderson, Paul Howard, Blanche Short Copenhaver, Ralph Harrison, Tom Boswell, Horace Stott, Gladys Norton

Mid 1950’s. Marigold Chesson, Frank Anderson, Paul Howard, Blanche Short Copenhaver, Ralph Harrison, Tom Boswell, Horace Stott, Gladys Norton

A couple months ago a very nice lady came by the local history room looking for a collection of materials from the National Bank of Wilson (later First Union) that she had donated to the library in 2005.  And to my embarrassment, I could not find any of the donated materials.  The lady was very nice about it and went on her way, but it irked me.  Flash forward to today and I was looking for something completely unrelated in the cavernous storage room and viola! I found the bank materials.  Unfortunately, it is two months too late and I don’t remember what the nice lady’s name was.  But here are some of the 68 images I found on a CD.

And for those not in the know, First Union was bought out by Wachovia in 2000 and Wachovia was eventually bought out by Wells Fargo after that.

4 thoughts on “National Bank of Wilson

  1. I am glad you found the collection. I know it is very hard to properly take care of the collections and files that a library could have. Perhaps people who read this may wish to volunteer some time and talent to their local library.

  2. I simply want to thank you, with tears in my eyes. In the second photo you posted (of the “teller line” at First Union), my father, who has now passed away, is shown as the 5th teller. He went on to manage all the Wilson branches, then the North Carolina branches, and eventually the southeastern US branches. An amazing man. Thank you.

  3. I found the same cd disc that my father had. He used to work in the building when it was the bank. His office was on the mezzanine right above the door.

Leave a Reply

