Ava Gardner at Atlantic Christian College

1941_pine_knot

ava_gardner2One of my volunteers, Monk Moore, pointed out a picture of Ava Gardner in the 1941 Atlantic Christian College Yearbook.  It turns out she was only partly through her freshman year when she was found by a modeling agency and dropped out of college.   The picture lists her as being from Wilson, NC, which is where she lived with her mother and attended high school at Rock Ridge HS.

Monk also said that his uncle used to play the piano and Ava would stop by his house with her friend and listen.  Incredulously, Monk said that her friend was better looking than Ava. ava_gardner

2 thoughts on “Ava Gardner at Atlantic Christian College

  1. Hello. I have tried to contact the Ava Gardner Museum before.

    My name is Don Cribb and my mother is Ethel Naomi Paris, from Wilson, NC. I believe she was born May 20, 1923. I do not recall the name of her high school, but I do know she attended Atlantic Christian College. I was told my mother and Ava Gardner may have met
    in high school, but were friends at Atlantic Christian College and spent some time together. Were there stores called “Mom & Pop,”then? If so, did they sell PepsiCola and peanuts? I recall mother mentioning that particular store name and suggesting she and Ava used stop there after school mother claimed to have met Mickey Rooney, too, after Ava’s marriage to Mr. Rooney and her inviting him to visit North Carolina.

    Mother also met a man, Clarence Cecil Cribb a Marine Master Sergeant during his time at Cherry Point Marine Corps Naval Air Station. Is there any record of my mother in the 1941 Pine Knott?

    It also occurred to me that the young woman with Ava that visited Monk Moore’s Uncle’s house to listen to piano may have been my mother! A look in the Pine Knott at my mother may suggest such!

    Thank you!

    La

Leave a Reply

