Genetic Genealogy Presentation

dna

Next Tuesday at 7 I will be giving a presentation to the Wilson County Genealogical Society on genetic genealogy through Y-DNA.  The presentation will start with the problems I ran into when researching my own  family and how I may or may not have overcome (you won’t know until the end of the presentation!) brick walls through the correlation of patrilineal surnames and the Y chromosome.  It will also be a an overview of the formation and structure of (mostly) British surnames and a description of  the Y chromosome and Y DNA haplogroups.  Although the talk is European centric because of my audience (and my research) and of the enormous amount of sampling data and research that has been done in Europe, but there will be some surprises and I welcome any questions.  It should be fun and informative but not too brain overloading.

Leave a Reply

