Introduction

Hello patrons, my name is Will Robinson and I am the new Librarian for the Wilson County Public Library Local History and Genealogy Room.    My own history begins with being born in Charlotte, growing up in Gastonia, receiving my BA in anthropology from UNC Wilmington and my MLIS from the University of South Carolina.  Although I lived in Columbia, SC for the past decade and I am a Gamecock, please do not hold it against me.  I am rededicating my life to my home state of North Carolina and to the people of Wilson County!  My areas of expertise include genealogical software and databases, historical records (census, probate, wills, etc.), the Colonial period,  the history of the Scots Irish, African Americans and Native Americans of the Southeast, and genetic testing (y chromosome and mitochondrial DNA) but it will take me a little time become fully versed in the historical and genealogical nuances of Wilson County.  Therefore, please give me suggestions as to reading material pertaining to this region so that I can better serve all of you in finding some elusive historical tidbit or uncovering that long hidden ancestor.  Also, I am hoping to get a robust digitization program going in order improve the access and preservation of our local historical materials.  I am looking forward to working with all of ya’ll!

2 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. Hello, Will, and welcome to Wilson! I’m an ex-pat, but am actively involved in WCGS and visit home often. I share some of your genealogical and historical interests, and maintain a wordpress blog dedicated to North Carolina’s free people of color, http://www.ncfpc.net. I post Wilson-related documents whenever I find them and have much more from surrounding and successor counties, particularly Wayne, Edgecombe and Nash.

Leave a Reply

